The Wrath and The Dawn

Title: The Wrath and The Dawn
Author: Renée Ahdieh
Published: May 12th, 2015
My Rating: 5 stars/5

SynopsisEvery dawn brings horror to a different family in a land ruled by a killer. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise. So it is a suspicious surprise when sixteen-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. But she does so with a clever plan to stay alive and exact revenge on the Caliph for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls. Shazi’s wit and will, indeed, get her through to the dawn that no others have seen, but with a catch . . . she’s falling in love with the very boy who killed her dearest friend.

She discovers that the murderous boy-king is not all that he seems and neither are the deaths of so many girls. Shazi is determined to uncover the reason for the murders and to break the cycle once and for all.

 
My thoughts from the Vault
 
I was intrigued by this novel from the first moment I read the synopsis. A Caliph who takes a new bride each evening and each dawn she is dead? Colour me interested. I picked this book up the day it was released and could barely put it down. Everything took a backseat while I was completely wrapped up in the world of Khalid and Shahrzad. 
 
From the moment we meet Shazi we can see how strong willed and loving a character she is. Her love for her best friend and the pain she felt when she was executed after being married to the Caliph are what force her to act. She puts together a plan, a plan of wrath and revenge, and she volunteers to be the next bride. But everything starts to change when Khalid visits her in her chamber after they were married. 
 
As for our first glimpse of the Caliph, which in the prologue, we start to get the belief that everything is not as it seems with Khalid. That maybe he is not executing his brides out of fun or blood lust. 
 
While I was reading this book, I was in the book. I ceased to be a person and was a fly on the wall in the world of Shazi and Khalid. I could feel the wind and taste the food and smell the flowers. I was totally entranced and nothing else mattered besides reading this book. It had been a quite a while since a book had me wrapped around its finger like TWATD did and I forgot how wonderful it was.
Renee Ahdieh has a way with words that grabs you and drags you into her book. The world building is immense and absolute perfection. It felt like Khorasan is a city you could visit in our world, it was so real. I never second guessed that a fact was true or believable.
By the end of this novel, I was dying for the sequel. I had fallen in love with the characters and wanted… no, needed more. They were believable and easy to fall in love with. I felt like I grew up with Shazi and we were on this road together. I highly recommend this novel to everyone and anyone. This book is most definitely going in the vault.
Leave a Reply

