City of the Lost

Title: City of the Lost
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Published: June 30th-August 4 2015
My Rating: 5 stars/5

Synopsis: Casey Duncan once killed a man and got away with it. But that’s not why she’s on the run. Her best friend Diana’s ex has found her again, despite all Casey has done to protect her. And Diana has decided the only way she’ll ever be safe is if she finds a mythical town that will hide people like her. 

Turns out the town exists, and it will take Diana, but only if Casey, a talented young police detective, comes along. Imagine a secret town, isolated in the Yukon wilderness, deliberately cut off from the world, where everyone is pretending to be someone they’re not. Even good people can get up to some very bad stuff.





My thoughts from the Vault
 
Let me start by saying that Kelley Armstrong is by far my most favourite author and I’d do anything to get my hands on any of her books. I don’t even read what her books are about anymore before purchasing them. I blinding pick them up and I still love every single one.

That said, this novel came out in six parts, each part releasing on a Tuesday. It was an interesting format for a book to be released and I didn’t hate it, but I did hate having to pay multiple times for one book. Though the prices of each part of the ebook were low, it still added up. Had it been any other author but Kelley Armstrong, I wouldn’t have done it.

Though I enjoyed the anticipation that built up each week while waiting for the next part in the series, the parts weren’t long enough to keep me sane during the week. Each part took less then two hours for me to read and then I’d have to wait a week for the next part. Now onto the book itself.

I thoroughly enjoyed this novel and the stories characters became people that I knew and cared for. This novel was sold as a stand alone novel, though I feel it could become a series if Kelley Armstrong wanted it to. Part of me enjoyed the end to the novel and believe it was perfect as a stand alone novel, the other part of me is greedy and wants more. Edit: I met Kelley Armstrong today and she stated that there will be a second book at least coming out for this series. She said she will be starting it soon.

The world building was incredible and I could walk down the streets of Rockton and tell you where everything is. Casey Duncan is loyal to her friend Diana who heavily relies on Casey. When Diana’s ex finds and threatens her, she gets in contact with Rockton, who agree to take her in. However, she’ll only go if they let Casey come too. 

The mystery in this novel kept me coming back for more and constantly trying to guess ‘whodunit’. Things in Rockton just keep getting worse and worse and its up to Casey and Dalton, the police chief to figure it out. This one is going in the vault. I just hope the second book comes out in book form and not an e-serial again. 

Leave a Reply

