The Masked Truth

tmt
Title: The Masked Truth
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Published: October 13, 2015

My Rating: 5 stars/5

Synopsis: Riley Vasquez is haunted by the brutal murder of the couple she was babysitting for. Max Cross is suffering under the shadow of a life-altering diagnosis he doesn’t dare reveal.

The last thing either of them wants is to spend a weekend away at a therapy camp alongside five other teens with “issues.” But that’s exactly where they are when three masked men burst in to take the group hostage.


The building has no windows. The exits are sealed shut. Their phones are gone. And their captors are on a killing spree. Riley and Max know that if they can’t get out, they’ll be next—but they’re about to discover that even escape doesn’t equal freedom.



My thoughts from the Vault
 

Okay, so I know this is the second Kelley Armstrong book that I have reviewed in the last couple days, but I just received this ARC and have been dying to read it. This book is completely different from Kelley Armstrong’s regular type of book. Her norm is heavy fantasy, and there was nothing fantasy about The Masked Truth.

This novel is listed as YA but beware, it covers some pretty heavy things. The story revolves around two teenagers, each dealing with their own mental health. Riley is dealing with PTSD after a night of babysitting gone horribly wrong. As for Max’s life-altering diagnosis? How about you let him tell you himself.

Though this novel covers a topic that can easily be misinforming, I believe Kelley Armstrong did a fantastic job in giving us a tiny window into what it could be like living with mental illnesses.

This thriller is a roller coaster from start to finish. As soon as I read the prologue, I knew I was hooked. I couldn’t put this novel down until I finished and it kept me guessing right until the very shocking end.

I don’t want to give too much away, so I’ll leave this as a short review. I’m signing off and you can bet your favourite book that this one is going in the vault!

Leave a Reply

