Everything, Everything

Title: Everything, Everything
Author: Nicola Yoon
Published: September 1, 2015

My Rating: 3 stars/5

Synopsis: My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.


Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

My thoughts from the Vault

 

First let me state that I have been having a very hard time writing a review for Everything, Everything. I enjoyed this novel, but I didn’t fall in love with it. I read it in a little over 3 hours because it was the first novel I’ve ever been approved for on NetGalley. As soon as I received the email, I sat down with my Ipad and started reading. It was a quick and easy read and I did enjoy it but for a couple of faults.

Things are the same as normal in Madeline’s life. Taking classes via skype and never leaving the house. Until a moving truck shows up next door and a new family moves in. When Madeline spots Olly for the first time, she’s intrigued.  This is where the book took a bit of a turn for the worst with me.  The relationship between Madeline and Olly just didn’t feel real to me. Things happened far too easily and far too quickly for it to be realistic and Olly didn’t feel like a genuine teenage boy to me. Friendships, let alone relationships, never start that easily. Especially when you’ve only ever seen someone through a window.

Once I got past the insta-love, I enjoyed the novel. It was an interesting read and I finished it quickly. It was a bit of a cheesy love story but the feeling behind it is one we all know, if not as well as Madeline. We always feel as though we need more, more things, to visit more places. Maddy didn’t know she needed more until she met Olly. She’d never known the world outside her home and she longed to see it now.

I was slightly disappointed by the ending of this novel if only because it didn’t have the shock factor I was looking for but it was a cute ending. This novel is a great “learning to be oneself” and a great book of firsts. It reminds us that life is short and we have to live it while we still can and experience everything possible.

I wouldn’t exactly say this one is going in the vault, but I will think fondly of it, if only for it being my first approved novel.

3 thoughts on “Everything, Everything

  1. Things Lucy Reads says:

    Your story is very similar to mine. I received this book from Net Galley (2nd book received) and sat down to read. I read this within 2 days. I wanted to read in one sitting but it wasn't possible at the time. I really enjoyed this book, but it wasn't a full blown 5 star for me. I wish it had a different ending, but oh well still a cute read.

    *Dropping by to visit after seeing your blog on the RQWN chat. Have a great day!!*

    Like

Leave a Reply

