The Trouble With Destiny

Title: The Trouble With Destiny
Author: Lauren Morrill
Published: December 8, 2015

My Rating: 4.5 stars/5

Synopsis: With her trusty baton and six insanely organized clipboards, drum major Liza Sanders is about to take Destiny by storm—the boat, that is. When Liza discovered that her beloved band was losing funding, she found Destiny, a luxury cruise ship complete with pools, midnight chocolate buffets, and a $25,000 spring break talent show prize. 

Liza can’t imagine senior year without the band, and nothing will distract her from achieving victory. She’s therefore not interested when her old camp crush, Lenny, shows up on board, looking shockingly hipster-hot. And she’s especially not interested in Russ, the probably-as-dumb-as-he-is-cute prankster jock whose ex, Demi, happens be Liza’s ex–best friend and leader of the Athenas, a show choir that’s the band’s greatest competition.


But it’s not going to be smooth sailing. After the Destiny breaks down, all of Liza’s best-laid plans start to go awry. Liza likes to think of herself as an expert at almost everything, but when it comes to love, she’s about to find herself lost at sea.

My thoughts from the Vault

The Trouble With Destiny is my first book by Lauren Morrill. I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started reading this book, but instantly I was hooked. Even though I found this novel a little cheesy and predictable, I loved every moment of it.

The book starts out with Liza arriving aboard the Destiny, a cruise ship, with her band mates. The Destiny is holding a Spring Break talent show with a prize of $25,000. Liza and the band need to win this prize as their band is facing budget cuts that will end with the band not making it another school year. Only, the band doesn’t know it faces extinction.

While boarding the ship Liza runs into her old camp crush Lenny who has gotten very good looking. However, things do not get off to a smooth start as it seems that Russ, the football quarterback, is trying to ruin their chances at winning.

This book was a perfect blend of romance and comedy. I felt all the right emotions during this book and it had me laughing out loud. This was my first Lauren Morrill book, but it is most definitely not going to be my last! I enjoyed the way she described things and the subtle references to other books and movies she easily slid into the novel. I never felt that she tried too hard to get her audience to laugh and I never felt that she forced anything into this novel.

I found that Liza reacted to situations the exact way any normal teenager would and it was very believable. At no point in this book did I find anything that happened implausible. Though it involved a love triangle and I knew how it would end, I still very much enjoyed the ride.

This one is most definitely going in the vault!

Leave a Reply

