Air Awakens

Title: Air Awakens
Author: Elise Kova
Published: August 27, 2015
My Rating: 4 stars/5

Synopsis: A Library Apprentice, a Sorcerer Prince, and an Unbreakable Magic Bond…

The Solaris Empire is one conquest away from uniting the continent, and the rare elemental magic sleeping in seventeen-year-old library apprentice Vhalla Yarl could shift the tides of war.



Vhalla has always been taught to fear the Tower of Sorcerers, a mysterious magic society, and has been happy in her quiet world of books. But after she unknowingly saves the life of one of the most powerful sorcerers of them all—the Crown Prince Aldrik—she finds herself enticed into his world. 

Now she must decide her future: Embrace her sorcery and leave the life she’s known, or eradicate her magic and remain as she’s always been. And with powerful forces lurking in the shadows, Vhalla’s indecision could cost her more than she ever imagined.

My thoughts from the Vault
 
I started this novel on a whim when I saw a blogger I follow post some fantastic sounding things about this novel on her twitter. Boy am I ever glad that I did! This novel had a wonderful female protagonist and a hard to resist, very sexy sorcerer prince. 
 
The story didn’t have one dull moment for me and I loved every moment I lived in this world. The magic had a “Avatar: The Last Airbender” feel to it, so if you loved Avatar as much as I did, you will most definitely love this novel. 
 
Right from the beginning of the novel I was in love with Vhalla Yarl. Vhalla works as a library apprentice and feeds her constant need for more knowledge by spending most of her work days tucked away reading. I felt a deep connection with Vhalla as I would react the exact same if working in a library as expansive as the one she worked in. She is a very strong, independent woman and she does not let anyone push her around. She is constantly putting a certain prince in his place.
 
Now don’t even get me started on the Prince. I am absolutely in love with him and he is mine. Dark, mysterious and a slight bit of a bad boy? Sign me up. I won’t say too much about him because it is so much more fun to find out all about him on your own! 
 
This book did a fantastic job in making me fall in love as well as tearing my heart into itty bitty pieces while I sat here begging for more. If you still need another reason to pick up this book, do it for the sole purpose of Elise Kova being a super nice and awesome person. After I finished this novel we chatted for a bit on Twitter and boy is she one amazing person. I’m going to keep this review short and sweet and leave off by saying, buy this book. You will not be disappointed. 

This book is most definitely going into the vault and I cannot wait to add the rest of the books.
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 thoughts on “Air Awakens

  1. Lilivette says:

    THAT'S IT! Another review where all I do is hear great things about this book?! Dang, I need this book! I added it to my to-read shelf some time ago, but with every passing day, I'm dying more to read it, aah! I NEED IT!

    Thanks for the great review! Will definitely try to check this one out soon!

    ~L. @ Reading Against Time

    Like

Leave a Reply

