Six of Crows

 

Title: Six of Crows
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Published: September 29, 2015
My Rating: 4.5 stars/5 


Synopsis: Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price–and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.
A runaway with a privileged past.
A spy known as the Wraith.
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction–if they don’t kill each other first.

My thoughts from the Vault

I had heard such great things about this novel from reviewers who were lucky enough to receive an advance copy of this novel and it definitely did not let me down when I was finally able to pick it up. Within the first few pages, I was hooked. A heist novel that’s been compared to Oceans 11? Count me in. Also in a world I already know and love? What could be better. 

This novel is an extension of the Grisha series, Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, and Ruin and Rising. This novel can be read on its own, without prior knowledge of the Grisha series, but I believe it would be better to read them first. The Grisha series is fantastic and reading it first will help with a couple of times Bardugo name drops from the Grisha series into Six of Crows. If you do choose to read Six of Crows first, and then decide to go back and read the Grisha series, it can have certain points spoiled for you by reading Six of Crows first. 

I loved the expansion of the Grisha world Leigh Bardugo had built in the Shadow and Bone series and I loved the new characters we got to meet. A thief, Dirtyhands, Kaz. The wraith, Inej. A sharpshooter, Jesper. A heartrender, Nina. A runaway, Wylan. A convict, Matthias. All of them have their pasts, all of them have their reasons. They trust no one, but they must trust each other to pull of the heists of all heists. 

The story switches its point of view between the 6 outcasts. My favourite views were Jesper, Kaz and Inej. I don’t mind novels that have multiple point of views, as long as they’re done well, and Bardugo definitely did a fantastic job with it. I could see how people could be wary of reading a novel with this many points of view as Six of Crows, but trust me, it is worth it and you will love it.

There was something about each character that I loved and there wasn’t a character who I felt the need to skip. It was great to be able to see the story from all the characters points of view and see how they see the world and events they’re dealing with. 


This story had a fantastic plot that never had a dull moment. This is the story that makes you forget about going to bed on time, getting dinner cooked. It makes you forget about all your responsibilities because this book is just that good. I highly recommend this novel to anyone whether you have read the Shadow and Bone series or not! 

This book has joined the many others in the vault!
One thought on “Six of Crows

  1. MsArdychan says:

    Oh, I'm so glad you liked it! I really enjoyed Six of Crows although some of the intense violence gave me nightmares! I was able to go to an author signing for the book and Leigh Bardugo said that there would be only one more book in this series! I'm looking forward to it, even if it is the last one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

