The Night Parade

 

Title: The Night Parade
Author: Kathryn Tanquary
Published: January 5, 2016
My Rating: 3.5 stars/5 


Synopsis: The last thing Saki Yamamoto wants to do for her summer vacation is trade in exciting Tokyo for the antiquated rituals and bad cell reception of her grandmother’s village. Preparing for the Obon ceremony is boring. Then the local kids take an interest in Saki and she sees an opportunity for some fun, even if it means disrespecting her family’s ancestral shrine on a malicious dare.

But as Saki rings the sacred bell, the darkness shifts. A death curse has been invoked… and Saki has three nights to undo it. With the help of three spirit guides and some unexpected friends, Saki must prove her worth – or say good-bye to the world of the living forever.

My thoughts from the Vault



I received this novel from Netgalley to review and I am so glad that I was able to read it. I was intrigued by this novels synopsis as I love stories that take place in other parts of the world. I am also very interested in stories that include things such as spirits and the spirit world and places that are unreachable in our world.

The story starts with Saki arriving at her grandmothers house. Instead of the fun week off most of her friends are going to be having, Saki will spend her week preparing for the Obon ceremony and cleaning her grandmothers house.

During a festival, Saki meets some local kids who decide they want to go check out the graveyard behind Saki’s grandmothers house in the dark. Feeling that the only way to have some fun during the week is to become friends with these kids, Saki agrees. However, when that fun ends with Saki invoking a death curse, everything changes. Three nights is what Saki has to undo the curse. The three nights of the Night Parade. 


I really enjoyed this story and the message it brings out. Saki must go through many tough trials in this story while on the journey to try and undo the death curse she has invoked. Saki must learn to navigate through these trials with 3 spirit guides and unexpected friends. Though there were times I was confused where the trials were leading, the story wrapped up nicely in the end.

Saki acted exactly as I believe a girl her age would behave and I never once thought she was an unrealistic character. I felt she reacted to certain situations the exact way I probably would have if faced with situations that Saki was. I also felt that this story will teach children a very valuable lesson about friendship and about people who act like friends but aren’t necessarily nice or friends.

I definitely enjoyed this novel and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys fantasy novels, especially novels that include spirits and the spirit world.

Leave a Reply

