All Fall Down

 

Title: All Fall Down
Author: Ally Carter
Published: January 20, 2015
My Rating: 4.5 stars/5 


Synopsis: Grace Blakely is absolutely certain of three things:

1. She is not crazy.
2. Her mother was murdered.
3. Someday she is going to find the killer and make him pay.

As certain as Grace is about these facts, nobody else believes her — so there’s no one she can completely trust. Not her grandfather, a powerful ambassador. Not her new friends, who all live on Embassy Row. Not Alexei, the Russian boy next door, who is keeping his eye on Grace for reasons she neither likes nor understands.


Everybody wants Grace to put on a pretty dress and a pretty smile, blocking out all her unpretty thoughts. But they can’t control Grace — no more than Grace can control what she knows or what she needs to do. Her past has come back to hunt her . . . and if she doesn’t stop it, Grace isn’t the only one who will get hurt. Because on Embassy Row, the countries of the world stand like dominoes, and one wrong move can make them all fall down.


My thoughts from the Vault

I’m totally behind the game on this novel, but I hadn’t heard about it until the interest in the second book releasing picked up. I’m so glad that other bloggers and readers on twitter were talking about this series as I have read 4 of the Gallagher Girl series by Ally Carter and I was in love with that series. The only reason why I stopped reading that series was because I caught up at the time and forgot to go back. Now that I remember how much I love Carter’s writing, I will be finishing that series off. 

I greatly enjoyed this novel and it really helped me get back on track with my reading. I read this book in pretty much one day, minus 80 pages read on a separate day and I loved every minute. The suspense and mystery in this novel were killing me and I could not stop reading as I just had to know what was going to happen.  

I found Grace to be a very strong and independent main character. She tends to stick to herself because everyone believes her to be crazy. When she told people that her mother was murdered on the night that she died, and that it wasn’t an accident like everyone believed, they told her there was no one there. That the security cameras have no record of any “scarred man” being at her mothers shop, let alone shooting her. Instead she died from inhaling smoke from the fire that burnt down her shop. 

Grace has a hard time trusting people as she sees the pity in peoples eyes because she watched her mother die. She knows people don’t believe that she saw a scarred man kill her mother. Even when her new friends seem to be on her side, she is afraid to tell them everything or say what shes really thinking for fear of scaring them off. I felt really terrible for Grace at times because things in her world are so unsure right now and people don’t treat her like a normal person. Even her own family treated her differently then before her mothers death.   

The entire time I was reading this novel, I had no idea what was going to happen and who was on what side of the game. I didn’t know who Grace could trust but I was desperately hoping that she could trust her new friends as I really wanted Grace to have someone in her corner. The mystery and suspense of this novel just left me wanting more and I cannot wait to pick up See How They Run. 

This novel is fantastic and I am definitely adding it into the Vault. I will be picking up See How They Run as soon as possible. If you haven’t read this novel yet, pick it up! 



2 thoughts on “All Fall Down

  1. Erin says:

    I read an ARC of this one last year, and I really enjoyed it. I still haven't read See How They Run, but I'm excited to see how things change.

    I'm glad you liked it, and I hope you get to read See How they Run soon! 🙂

    Like

  2. Alice says:

    I have now purchased See How They Run and I cannot wait to finally be able to read it! I think it will be read after I read Red Queen, for the #RockMyTBR challenge! You'll have to let me know when you're reading SHTR! Maybe we can chat about it! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

