BLOG TOUR: The Star-Touched Queen

 


Title: The Star-Touched Queen
Author: Roshani Chokshi
Published: April 26, 2016
Format: e-ARC
My Rating: 3 stars/5 


Synopsis: Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.
 




My thoughts from the Vault

Disclaimer: I received this novel in exchange for an honest review and this in no way affects my opinion of the book.

I was beyond excited to find out I was able to participate in this blog tour hosted by St. Martin’s Press and to have the honor to read and review The Star-Touched Queen. I had heard so much love and excitement for this novel from fellow bloggers and I could not wait to get my hands on it.

This novel has such an interesting idea behind it that I couldn’t wait to dive right. Maya is an interesting character who had a tough childhood as she is cursed–cursed with a horoscope that tells of a marriage paired with death and destruction. Even though Maya was paired with such a devastating horoscope, she grew up to be a strong, independent woman. Set to grow up and never marry, Maya is shocked when she learns her father plans to arrange a marriage of political convenience to quell rebellions. What happens at the ceremony changes the direction Maya’s life is headed.

I quite enjoyed the characters in this story with Amar and Kamala being my favourites. Amar was very swoon-worthy and I really enjoyed his quick wit and how he actually treated Maya as his equal. Kamala was a hilarious character and even though she wasn’t someone you’d normally want to keep around, I loved her. I enjoyed the strength of both Amar and Maya and I loved how feisty Maya was.

I found this novel to be paced a little quickly and I found the ending felt a little rushed. I even had to reread a bit of the ending to realize that it had fully ended and wouldn’t have a sequel. Despite this, I did enjoy the novel and will most likely pick up the companion novel that Chokshi is currently working on. Make sure to check this one out for yourself and enjoy the world Chokshi creates.

ROSHANI CHOKSHI comes from a small town in Georgia where she collected a Southern accent, but does not use it unless under duress. She grew up in a blue house with a perpetually napping bear-dog. At Emory University, she dabbled with journalism, attended some classes in pajamas, forgot to buy winter boots and majored in 14th century British literature.

She spent a year after graduation working and traveling and writing. After that, she started law school at the University of Georgia where she’s learning a new kind of storytelling. More information on the author can be found at www.roshanichokshi.com.

3 thoughts on “BLOG TOUR: The Star-Touched Queen

  1. Jamie Kramer says:

    Love this review! I agree that the ending was a little rushed and I know there is a companion novel coming out for it, but I almost would have wanted a sequel. This would have made an excellent duology, imo. But I still really liked it! Thanks for your review!

    Jamie @ Books and Ladders

    Like

  2. Alice says:

    I agree that it would have made an excellent duology and I almost wish it would have. I think I would have enjoyed the story more that way.

    Like

  3. Chelsea Coates says:

    You don't see a lot of stand alone fantasy's these days. A duology really helps bring everything together I think. This book is coming for me in the mail and I can't wait to start it! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

