BLOG TOUR: Crystal Crowned

 
 
 



Title: Crystal Crowned 
Author: Elise Kova
Published: July 12, 2016
Format: E-arc
My Rating: 3.5 stars/5 


Synopsis: Long live Solaris.

One bloodthirsty ruler has been overthrown by another, casting the shadow of death over the Solaris Empire. Vhalla Yarl stands upon the stage of fate, prepared to do battle one final time. Fragile alliances will be tested and new bonds will be formed as the world is reshaped. She fights as the champion of peace, but when the night is darkest will she be able to pay the price of a new dawn?

 

My thoughts from the Vault

Disclaimer: I received this novel in exchange for an honest review and this in no way affects my opinion of the book.

Let me start by saying I am beyond honored to have been given the chance to review the final Air Awakens novel. It has been quite the ride reading these novels and they will forever hold a special place in my heart and on my bookshelves. Now onto the review part of things.

Crystal Crowned starts off where Water’s Wrath left off. With Victor spreading his terror and lies, Vhalla and company get ready to head to war for the last time.  Will they be able to bring Victors reign of terror to an end?

I know this is the lowest score I have given any novel in the Air Awakens series, but don’t get me wrong. I did quite enjoy this novel, it just didn’t live up to my expectations of the series finale that I thought we’d get after how devastating the last novels left me. Though I had built up my expectations too much, I still loved this novel.

You really get to see how far the characters have grown throughout this series during Crystal Crowned and I enjoyed seeing them reach where they were supposed to go. As my favourite character, I enjoyed Aldrik’s growth the most and seeing him become the man he was born to be. In CC he really needs to step up and show the world that he is capable of becoming Emperor and that he is no longer the black sheep he was most comfortable portraying.

There were a couple events that came to pass that I expected to be huge moments in the book but they seemed to be glossed over and because of this I felt that a lot of the bigger plot points left me feeling underwhelmed. However, as the war began I became engrossed and could not put the novel down. I found the ending to be quite satisfying and a great ending for such a series.

This series will have a loving home in the Vault and I will always push it on my friends to read.

Leave a Reply

