TTT: Ten Books Set Outside The US

http://www.brokeandbookish.com/p/top-ten-tuesday-other-features.html

 

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish in June 2010. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join. All we ask is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post and, if you want to, add your name to the Linky widget on that day’s posts (typically put up midnight EST on Tuesday) so that everyone can check out other bloggers lists! If you don’t have a blog, just post your answers as a comment. Have fun with it! It’s a fun way to get to know your fellow bloggers.


This weeks TTT post is 10 books set outside the USA. Let’s see if I can even think of 10! Click on the picture of the novel to head to the books Goodreads page!

Book One

https://www.goodreads.com/search?q=anna+and+the+french+kiss
Anna and the French Kiss immediately comes to mind when I think about books outside the US. Anna gets shipped off to boarding school in Paris. I love novels about going to boarding schools as that is an experience I have never had as I didn’t even stay in residence when I was in college. I absolutely love novels set outside the US as being Canadian, a lot of things in the US are the same as in Canada, so I love something new and different.

 

Book Two

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13595639-the-name-of-the-star?from_search=true

The Name of the Star also jumps to mind immediately and again is about boarding school. This one however takes place in London (my dream home) and involves ghosts and Jack the Ripper! I cannot recommend this novel enough to friends and family. London, ghosts and Jack the Ripper? What isn’t there to love?!

 

 

Book Three

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/12681111-flirting-in-italian?from_search=true

Flirting in Italian is about four girls who go to Italy to do something I have always wanted to do: study Italian. They spend the summer studying the language and exploring Italy and meeting cute boys! This novel is very cute and also has some interesting mystery to it!

 

 

 

Book Four

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17020.13_Little_Blue_Envelopes?ac=1&from_search=true13 Little Blue Envelopes is the second Maureen Johnson book on this list and that is because Maureen Johnson is fabulous. This book is on my list of favourites and I have read it multiple times. In this novel, Ginny receives a letter from her aunt… The weird part about that? Her aunt is dead. This letter leads her to 12 more letters and instructs her in what to do. She cannot read any of the envelopes unless completing what she is told to do in the previous letter. HOW EXCITING. I absolutely love this novel and Ginny’s adventures across Europe.

 

Book Five

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18007564-the-martian?ac=1&from_search=true
This one is kind of cheating, cause it doesn’t take place on Earth.. Okay it’s also kind of cheating because parts of it take place in the US. But MOST of it takes place on Mars. This novel is fantastic and wonderfully funny so I’m sticking to my guns and putting it in! You all know this one, I know you do. Watney get’s left behind on Mars and so the entire planet is trying to get him back to Earth alive.

 

 

Book Six

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9284655-tiger-s-curse?from_search=true
I absolutely adored this series and loved how it took place in India which is not something you see often in books. Also add in hot boys, tigers and curses, and I’m hooked. There were a couple things that I found very unrealistic, but I try not to think of those things because otherwise I really loved this series.

 

 

Book Seven

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3.Harry_Potter_and_the_Sorcerer_s_Stone?from_search=true

 

I’m not even going to talk a lot about this because you all know what Harry Potter is about and that it takes place in England. So this one was easy and a bit of a cheat if you ask me haha.

 

 

Book Eight

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25362841-city-of-the-lost?ac=1&from_search=true

A list of mine would not be complete without a Kelley Armstrong novel. So here is City of the Lost! CotL takes place in Yukon, Canada! A place that most Canadian’s haven’t even visited. This novel follows Casey who moves to a town to disappear. I loved the mystery to this novel and how it took place in Canada (especially since KA is Canadian herself!).

 

 

Book Nine

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/249747.Artemis_Fowl?ac=1&from_search=true

Artemis Fowl follows a 12 year old criminal mastermind. But even Artemis doesn’t know what he’s taken on when he kidnaps a fairy, Captain Holly Short of the LEPrecon Unit. These aren’t the fairies of bedtime stories—they’re dangerous! I started this as a younger child and absolute love it! I still have fond memories of this series and am re-reading it currently.

 

 

Book Ten

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7074717-the-lost-girls

In The Lost Girls, 3 girls give up their day jobs to travel the world. This is a non-fiction travel novel and it is one of my favourite novels and makes me want to travel very badly. If you enjoy travel novels, I highly recommend it!

 

I finally finished and managed to even think of 10 novels that take place outside of the US. Let me tell you, this TTT is harder then I thought it would be. I cannot wait to read all your lists!
One thought on “TTT: Ten Books Set Outside The US

Leave a Reply

