Last Will and Testament


Title: Last Will and Testament
Author:Dahlia Adler
Published: December 9, 2014
Format: e-book

My Rating: 4.5 stars/5

Synopsis: Lizzie Brandt was valedictorian of her high school class, but at Radleigh University, all she’s acing are partying and hooking up with the wrong guys. But all that changes when her parents are killed in a tragic accident, making her guardian to her two younger brothers. To keep them out of foster care, she’ll have to fix up her image, her life, and her GPA—fast. Too bad the only person on campus she can go to for help is her humorless, pedantic Byzantine History TA, Connor Lawson, who isn’t exactly Lizzie’s biggest fan.

But Connor surprises her. Not only is he a great tutor, but he’s also a pretty great babysitter. And chauffeur. And listener. And he understands exactly what it’s like to be on your own before you’re ready. Before long, Lizzie realizes having a responsible-adult type around has its perks… and that she’d like to do some rather irresponsible (but considerably adult) things with him as well. Good thing he’s not the kind of guy who’d ever reciprocate.

Until he does. Until they turn into far more than teacher and student. Until the relationship that helped put their lives back together threatens everything they both have left.

My thoughts from the Vault

I picked up this novel after seeing a lot of promotion for Out on Good Behavior on twitter. I had been following Dahlia for quite a while and her books seemed to have quite the following and a lot of the people I follow seemed to love her books. After receiving a gift card, I figured the time was right to pick up LWaT. And boy was I ever right.

The novel starts out with Lexie at a party messing about with another girls boyfriend when a knock sounds at the bedroom door. With that knock, Lexie’s world is changed forever when her parents are killed in an accident. After legally becoming guardian to her two younger brothers, Lexie finally has the kick in the pants to get her act together and pick up her grades. Because low grades mean she loses her scholarship and will not be able to return to school. Not being able to return to school means she’ll lose custody of her brothers if she can’t take care of them and the last thing she wants is for her brothers to end up in foster care.

LWaT really starts off with a bang and I really felt that it did not let me down during my time reading it. It shocked, amazed, and had me biting my nails throughout the whole novel.  This story was so steamy that I’m sure, had I been in public, that I would have been red in the face while reading. Thankfully I was reading at home so I got to enjoy it without worry of embarrassment for all that it is worth.

I found that the set of circumstances that Lexie was put through was incredibly well written and realistic. I never once felt that Lexie was behaving in a way that a normal teenager wouldn’t in her position. Lexie really grew throughout this novel and became someone that her brothers could look up to and trust and I rather enjoyed watching her grow during this book.

Dahlia Adler has such a way with words that it sucks you right in and will not let you go until you finish reading. This was my first Adler novel, but it most definitely will not be my last. Adding this one to the Vault and I cannot wait to add the rest of this series!

Leave a Reply

