ARC REVIEW: Make Me Stay


Title: Make Me Stay
Author: M.E Gordon

Published: July 9, 2016
Format: e-ARC

My Rating: 4 stars/5

Synopsis: Caroline:

When someone says “Make me stay” in the most dramatic, love-sick kind of way, most people think it sounds desperate, weak, or needy. I, for one, think it sounds like all of the above! I’m not stupid, and I sure as heck am not desperate. In fact, I’m the complete opposite of weak. I’ve lived my live with a steel trap around my heart, and I don’t need anyone—especially a man. So how in the hell did a wannabe rock star get me to say those three words…make me stay?

Kane:

One-woman man? You’ve got to be joking. I was a rock god…in a bar…in a small town…eh, details. I was getting women like I was their gift from God. I was going to make it big. My band and I were going to bust out of Small Town, USA, and we were going to knock the panties off every woman in sight. So, when I caught some sexy groupie touching my baby…my beautiful guitar, did I want to test those waters? Hell, yes! But did I want to be a one-woman man? Hell, no! But after that, all I knew was that I wanted to make her stay.
 

My thoughts from the Vault

Disclaimer: I received this novel in exchange for an honest review and this in no way affects my opinion of the book.

When I was approached with a request to review this book, I gladly accepted. A sexy rock god and the girl who tamed him? This has my name written all over it, so sign me up!

The novel starts out with Caroline arriving in the middle of nowhere to work with her dad at his bar for the summer. The place looks like a ghost town and she can’t wait for the summer to end and to find a new job that will get her back to New York. When she meets Kane, he seems like the exact kind of person she needs to stay away from but that seems to be easier said than done.

I loved the interactions between Kane and Caroline. I loved how sassy and independent Caroline was and how she stood her ground against Kane and the boys. I adored how the boys in the band protected Caroline and their relationships. The one thing I didn’t like about Caroline was how she seemed to flirt with all the boys in the band and string them along.

I loved how stubborn Kane can be and how even though Caroline and him weren’t seeing each other, he was still very protective of her. However there were a couple times when I felt his protective ways leaned into possessiveness and that made me uncomfortable and I didn’t agree with it.

There was quite a bit of intrigue surrounding Caroline’s mother and the story behind her, and I enjoyed the mystery of it. I relish trying to guess what the backstory could be and was glad it wasn’t given up too soon. I find a lot of authors will build something up but give it away far too soon to enjoy the anticipation.

One thing I found very weird in this story was that not once is Kane’s mother mentioned and then in passing for some unknown reason, near the end of the novel, Caroline asks how his mother is doing. I felt this was really out of place as we had heard nothing about her before this casual mention.

Overall I did greatly enjoy this novel and was completely sucked in once I started reading. If you like romance, I would highly recommend Make Me Stay.

Leave a Reply

