TTT: Back To School Freebie

 

http://www.brokeandbookish.com/p/top-ten-tuesday-other-features.html

 

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish in June 2010. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join. All we ask is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post and, if you want to, add your name to the Linky widget on that day’s posts (typically put up midnight EST on Tuesday) so that everyone can check out other bloggers lists! If you don’t have a blog, just post your answers as a comment. Have fun with it! It’s a fun way to get to know your fellow bloggers.


This weeks TTT post is Back to School Freebie in which we can choose any school related topic to write about. I decided to go with 10 books that most people had to read in school but that I never ended up having to read in my classes. Some of these books are ones that I might even end up reading eventually as I feel like they are staples and I need to. I’m sure some of these will shock you, so lets get to it!

Book One

Though I never had to read this novel in school, it is one that I would like to read on my own. Part of me feels like I am missing out because I have no idea what people are talking about when they reference 1984.

 

Book Two

 

 

If asked, I can give you a general idea of what happens in Romeo and Juliet, but that’s about it. I had to read Macbeth in English class, but that ended up being the only Shakespeare I have ever had to and wanted to read. I don’t know if I ever will go back and read Romeo and Juliet, but we shall see. Never say never.

 

 

Book Three

 

You can barely get through a conversation without someone mentioning that they had to read To Kill A Mockingbird and shockingly enough, I didn’t ever have to read it. I don’t know if I’ll ever read this one, as I don’t know how much it interests me, but maybe one day I’ll take it out of the library and try it out.

 

 

Book Four

 

 

This novel is one that I may try and read since it just had a movie come out 3 years ago and I feel like I should really at least try and read some of the classics.

 

 

 

Book Five

 

This one is on banned book lists? Sign me up. My dad really enjoyed this one when he read it in school so I think I’ll pick this one up eventually to read. I like reading books that my dad has read so we can talk about them.

 

 

 

 

Book Six

 

This one actually sounds interesting so I think I may pick it up! As I make this list, I am going through a popular high school English books list on goodreads and I am amazed at how many I haven’t read. So lets keep this shocking list going!

 

 

 

Book Seven

 

Ever since watching Easy A I’ve been interested in reading this novel. I actually have a physical copy of the book that I own, I just haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. I’ll tack that on to my TBR to be read asap so that I can knock a novel off this list!

 

 

 

Book Eight

 

This is starting to get embarrassing now with how many I haven’t read haha. A bunch of these I also don’t even know what they are about. I should really start reading more classics.

 

 

 

 

Book Nine

 

I’ve never read any of these classics. The only one I tried to read was Pride and Prejudice but I never could finish it. It just wasn’t for me unfortunately. Maybe one day I’ll try another.

 

 

 

 

Book Ten 

 

I’m not sure how much this one is read in high school, but you know lol. I started reading this one a couple years ago and got 72 pages into it and even while sitting bored for a 12 hour shift at work, I just didn’t want to read it. So I put it down and never picked it back up.

 

 

 

So there are my 10 high school books that I never ended up having to read. Are any of these books ones that you got away without having to read in school? Let me know in the comments which ones!

Leave a Reply

