ARC REVIEW: Stalking Jack the Ripper

Title: Stalking Jack the Ripper
Author: Kerri Maniscalco

Published: September 20, 2016
Format: e-ARC

My Rating: 3 stars/5

Synopsis: Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord’s daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.

Against her stern father’s wishes and society’s expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle’s laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world.

 

 My thoughts from the Vault

Disclaimer: I received this novel in exchange for an honest review and this in no way affects my opinion of the book.

I had been hearing about this novel non-stop on my Twitter and Goodreads feeds and was dying to get my hands on it. I was lucky enough to snag an e-arc from Hachette Book Group Canada and I thank them for the opportunity to review SJTR.

This novel takes place in 1888 while Jack the Ripper is roaming the streets looking for his next victim. With my interest in Jack the Ripper, I thought for sure I would get sucked into this novel quite quickly. Unfortunately, the opposite seemed to happen.

While I was hoping for a lot of mystery and action, what I got was a lot of slow discussion. I found that most of the novel was based around autopsies of the victims but even that had a dull edge to it. Sadly I think I was as interested in SJTR as I would have been reading a medical journal.

I did enjoy the characters though. I thought Audrey Rose was an interesting character as she pushed the boundaries of social norms and was willing to do what it took to get what she wanted. Thomas, I loved. I loved how brash he was and how he also didn’t seem to care for societies ways and frequently ignored the “rules”.

Audrey Rose’s father drove me absolutely insane. I know that this is how things were done back then but the feminist in me just wanted to yell at him to not treat Audrey that way. I firmly believe that had I lived during this time period, I would have acted out exactly as Audrey did.

I have heard many people express complete love for this novel and I do not think there was anything particularly wrong with it, it was lacking in excitement for me. I cannot wait to see what else Kerri Maniscalco comes up with.

5 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: Stalking Jack the Ripper

  1. Pingback: September Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

