REVIEW: The Girl in the Steel Corset

tgitsc


Title: The Girl in the Steel Corset

Author: Kady Cross

Published: May 24, 2011
Format: hardcover

My Rating: 4 stars/5

Synopsis: In 1897 England, sixteen-year-old Finley Jayne has no one… except the “thing” inside her.

When a young lord tries to take advantage of Finley, she fights back. And wins. But no normal Victorian girl has a darker side that makes her capable of knocking out a full-grown man with one punch…

Only Griffin King sees the magical darkness inside her that says she’s special, says she’s one of them. The orphaned duke takes her in from the gaslit streets against the wishes of his band of misfits: Emily, who has her own special abilities and an unrequited love for Sam, who is part robot; and Jasper, an American cowboy with a shadowy secret.

Griffin’s investigating a criminal called The Machinist, the mastermind behind several recent crimes by automatons. Finley thinks she can help and finally be a part of something, finally fit in.

But The Machinist wants to tear Griff’s little company of strays apart, and it isn’t long before trust is tested on all sides. At least Finley knows whose side she’s on even if it seems no one believes her.

 My thoughts from the Vault

I started reading this novel for the United Kingdom portion of the Travelling the Pages feature that I am hosting alongside Chelsea from Books for Thought. This novel takes place in London, England, during the year 1897. This novel was my first ever steampunk novel and I greatly enjoyed it. It took a little getting used to for me, the combination of past and future, but once I was used to it I greatly enjoyed the novel.

It took me a while to finish this novel as it takes place around the same time as Downton Abbey which I have also recently gotten addicted to. I had to make sure to keep switching back and forth to keep both addictions satisfied!

This story has an interesting aspect to it that appeals to both sides of me; the light, and the dark. As Finley tries to control the “thing” inside of her, she meets Griffin and Jack. Griffin reflects the light, the good side of people while Jack represents the dark. While I have always loved a bad boy, I also loved Griffin and his good guy image. A little spoiler here, so avoid if you’d like ***there is a bit of a love triangle in this book*** and usually I loathe these, but I thought it was very tastefully done in this novel and I didn’t hate it!

I found there was never a dull moment during this story and the action kept me on the edge of my seat. If it wasn’t action, it was excitement between Finley, Jack and Griffin. I highly recommend this novel to anyone who enjoys steampunk and slow burn romance.
Leave a Reply

