ARC REVIEW: In Ruins

ir


Title: In Ruins

Author: Danielle Pearl

Published: October 4, 2016
Format: e-arc

My Rating: 1 star/5

Synopsis: She wanted to start again. To be someone—anyone—different . . .

Freedom. When Carleigh Stanger thought of college, that was the word that came to mind. Freedom from her unhappy home life. Freedom from high school mistakes. Freedom from the memory of that terrible morning. Only instead of bringing a sweet escape, Carleigh’s first campus party traps her in the scornful gaze of the last person she wants to see, Tucker Green.

It wasn’t long ago that being close to Carleigh was everything Tucker wanted. But that was before he realized she was just another scheming girl who’d do whatever it took to get her way. Even lie to the guy she claimed to love. Unfortunately while Tucker’s brain remembers the pain Carleigh caused, his body only remembers the pleasure . . .

 My thoughts from the Vault

 

 Disclaimer: I received this novel in exchange for an honest review and this in no way affects my opinion of the book.

 

I was quite excited to read this novel as it sounded right up my alley. A past couple working through their problems to hopefully get back together? Sign me up. However, once I started reading this novel, I found it just got worse and worse.

 

The book switches narrative between Tucker and Carleigh. Not only that, but it also switches between the past and the present. I found this to be very well done and easy to follow and enjoyed the flashbacks into the past.

 

The past Tucker was such a sweet, caring young man that I couldn’t help but fall in love with alongside Carleigh. However, the present Tucker was a complete jerk. The story makes it completely clear that Tucker broke up with Carleigh over some secret but what that secret is, you don’t find out for quite some time. I guessed the secret quite early in though not the extent of it. I do however feel that Tucker was completely out of line with how he treated and spoke to Carleigh, no matter the circumstances.

 

Not only did Tucker treat Carleigh like she was the worst of the worst scum on the bottom of his shoes, he was also emotionally abusive to her. I was absolutely disgusted by the things he said to her and the way he treated her during intercourse. Saying things such as “You think he can touch you like I can?” and “No one could make you feel like this but me. You know that, right?”. Sadly, like many who are in relationships with emotional abusers, Carleigh thought she didn’t deserve any better and believed every word Tucker told her.

 

Not only were there a lot of moments where Tucker showed how abusive he was, there was a lot moments where characters make rape jokes. This does because a plot point later in the book but until it becomes something that Carleigh aims to stop, it makes for an uncomfortable read.

 

The end of this novel really threw me for a loop and I honestly had no idea where it came from. When I got to around 80-85% the novel flipped on its head. I had almost decided to not finish this novel at 37-40% but decided to stick it out in hopes that it would get better for me, but I just could not stand Tuckers attitude and abusiveness.

 

Sadly this read did not work for me, but if you can get past what I have mentioned, or would like to see for yourself, check it out.
Leave a Reply

