ARC REVIEW: SOS: Summer of St. George

sos


Title: SOS: Summer of St. George

Author: Briana Gaitan

Published: September 13, 2016
Format: E-arc

My Rating: 4.5 stars/5

Synopsis: When we were 16, we made a pact.
When we were 17, we decided to follow through.
When we were 18, we decided to spend our final summer together.
Because at the end of the summer, we would show them.
Our deaths would show the world- they can’t treat us this way any longer.

This is our SOS, our Summer of St. George.

Murphy and her cousin Poppy have been BFFs forever. They share everything- including a birthday.

When they make a pact to commit suicide after high school, they decide to have one last summer of fun with NO consequences and nothing holding them back.

As the Summer of St. George begins, things don’t go as planned. Murphy doesn’t expect to fall in love and she doesn’t expect to find a boy that makes her want to live. His name is Liam, and after spending two years in the Air Force living in Japan, he’s trying to integrate back into American society. As a self-proclaimed “Jack-of-all-trades” he knows things about Murphy that she isn’t quite ready to admit to herself. And he is determined to haunt her, peel back layer after layer of lies until she can’t run from the truth anymore.
This is our SOS, this is our Summer of St. George.

 

 My thoughts from the Vault

Disclaimer: I received this novel in exchange for an honest review and this in no way affects my opinion of the book.

When I started reading this novel, I had no idea what I was getting myself into. A novel about two girls with a suicide pact? That could go terribly, terribly wrong. However, after finishing this novel I found it to be very well done and I enjoyed it immensely.

The story is told from the two perspectives of Poppy and Murphy. Poppy’s point of view is from two years ago and Murphy’s is in the present. I found this to be well done and a very interesting way for a novel to be done because each time it flips back to Poppy we get to see what led them to make the suicide pact that Murphy is dealing with in the present.

I loved Liam a lot while reading, he was funny, and he seemed to really understand what Murphy needed even though she didn’t seem to understand herself. He was such a sweet and loving guy that it was impossible not to fall for him. And that is exactly Murphy’s problem. She’s not allowed to fall in love but that is exactly what she starts to do.

The story was quite interesting and kept me reading non-stop until I finished this book. I had my guesses with this book and I was mostly right but it was still a fantastic read. SOS was unlike any other novel I’ve read before.

This was a great story about falling in love, learning who you truly are, and how much there is to still experience in life when you are that young. I highly recommend this novel to anyone looking for something unlike anything they’ve ever read before.
Leave a Reply

