ARC REVIEW: Something I Need

sin


Title: Something I Need

Author: Lena Lowe

Published: September 14, 2016
Format: E-arc

My Rating: 4 stars/5

Synopsis: Jonte Williamson has a dream: become Nashville’s next big star. Finding herself unexpectedly homeless hot off the plane wasn’t part of her grand plan.

Cash Bellini is a simple man: he loves his twin sister, Dolly, hates country music, and stays far away from anything more complicated than that.

When Jonte stumbles into Cash’s bar, helping out the homeless country music wannabe is the last thing on his agenda. Pity someone forgot to send the memo to his too-big heart and meddling twin. Throw in a pair of baby blue cowboy boots, a pool table and a splash of tequila, and these two are set to ignite in a hot sexy mess! Will either of their hearts survive the tug-o-war between what they want and what they need?

 My thoughts from the Vault

Disclaimer: I received this novel in exchange for an honest review and this in no way affects my opinion of the book.

I was a little unsure of this novel going into it as it is about a woman trying to become a country music star and I personally am not a big country music fan. But I could not disregard this novel solely due to the country aspect especially as I wouldn’t actually hear any country music, so I decided to give it a try.


I adored this novel just as I expected I would. It was your typical romance novel and the hints of country were super cute. I found the story intriguing and finished it in under one day and I am now dying for the next book in the series.

I fell in love with Cash and Dolly quite quickly in the novel and thought Jonte was a very cute character as well. The only thing that I felt didn’t quite fit in was when Cash called Jonte sweetheart. It felt a little forced and awkward to me like Cash just needed some quirky nickname to call her.

I loved the easy friendship between Dolly and Jonte but I am glad that Jonte seemed wary of spending the night with someone she had just met. Too often in novels characters are so quick to trust and no one would be that trusting of someone they’ve never met before, not if they don’t want to end up in a horror movie at least. So I was quite glad that Jonte acted like a normal human when Dolly offered up her apartment.

This novel was adorable and lots of fun to read so I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys contemporary novels. I know I for one am dying for the sequel to come out.

Leave a Reply

