ARC Review: My Unscripted Life

mul


Title: My Unscripted Life

Author: Lauren Morrill

Published: October 11, 2016
Format: E-arc

My Rating: 3.5 stars/5

Synopsis: Sometimes love stories go off script.

Another sultry Georgia summer is about to get a lot hotter. Dee Wilkie is still licking her wounds after getting rejected by the precollege fine arts program of her dreams. But if she’d gone away, she wouldn’t have been around to say yes to an unbelievable opportunity: working on the set of a movie filming in her small Southern town that just happens to be starring Milo Ritter, the famous pop star Dee (along with the rest of the world) has had a crush since eighth grade.

It’s not like Dee will be sharing any screen time with Milo—she’s just a lowly PA. And Milo is so disappointingly rude that Dee is eager to stay far away from him. Except after a few chance meetings, she begins to wonder if just maybe there’s a reason for his offensive attitude, and if there’s more to Milo than his good looks and above-it-all Hollywood pedigree. Can a relationship with a guy like Milo ever work out for a girl like Dee? Never say never. . .

 

 My thoughts from the Vault

Disclaimer: I received an eARC of this book. I chose to review it and this in no way impacts my opinion of it.

After having read Lauren Morrills book The Trouble with Destiny and really enjoying it, I was very interested in reading My Unscripted Life. Though I enjoyed this one, I didn’t enjoy it nearly as much as The Trouble with Destiny.

This novel was the fluffy, predictable read that you expect it to be but it was also a very good read. Sometimes you just need to read the fluffy romance. I found Dee to be a good character but very dramatic at times. Milo was a bit of a jerk in the beginning but I could totally understand why he was acting they way he was.

I thought the idea behind the story was very cute and enjoyed that it was on a movie set. It kind of makes the book into every girls dream, to fall in love with the gorgeous movie star. However, I did feel like the book spent way too much time on talking about the shooting of the movie then on building the romance between Dee and Milo. I would have loved a little more action between them.

So if you like adorable, fluffy romances, don’t hesitate to pick up My Unscripted Life. It will not disappoint.

 

Leave a Reply

