ARC REVIEW: Rule Breaker

rb


Title: Rule Breaker

Author: Kat Bastion, Stone Bastion

Published: November 7, 2017
Format: E-arc

My Rating: 5 stars/5

Synopsis: Leilani Kealoha wants to be set free. Of family expectations. Of generations of prejudice.

Chafing at rules made by the proud Hawaiian men in her family, she yearns to discover herself and hungers to explore the world. Her adventuresome heart? Longs for something even greater, deeper.

The last thing she expects is an East Coast haole surfer to hold the key to everything.

Mason Price is done walking his parents’ path. Done with social acceptance—with cold politics.

On a surfing quest to reinvent himself, Mase finds an exotic beauty standing on his towel. But it’s her feisty bargaining that catches him off guard. When he challenges her with a “Truth or Shots” drinking game, she unwittingly reveals more than she’d intended about herself…and him.

The raw truth stuns him: She’s suffered like he has, is lost like he is—keeps secrets like he does.

But will young love and shared situations be enough to conquer racial and cultural divides?

Lines in the sand…were meant to be crossed.

***RULE BREAKER is a standalone, full-length new adult romance told in dual POV. Due to mature themes and adult language, this book is for those 18 and older.***

 

 My thoughts from the Vault

Disclaimer: I received an eARC of this book. I chose to review it and this in no way impacts my opinion of it.

I’m not going to lie, I picked up this book because 1) surfers are hot. 2) even though I’ve never been, I’m in love with Hawaii and 3) just look at that cover. I am glad to say that I was not disappointed in the least. This novel was sexy and exhilarating and it kept me wanting more right until the very end.

I absolutely adored Mase and Leilani which is saying a lot for me because I usually have one or two things that irritate me about one or more characters in romance novels but Kat and Stone really hit the nail on the head with these two.

I only had two teeny tiny issues with this novel. One was that Leilani was 19, but unless I missed it somehow, I still don’t know how old Mase was, and that bothered me because of how young Leilani was. I got over this quickly by just imagining him as only a year or two older. My other issue was that a couple times I found Mase using Hawaiian words that Lani hadn’t taught him yet, and it seemed like he shouldn’t have known these, but I guess he could have picked these up elsewhere.

This novel also had a beautiful message behind it that I think everyone should read and actually take away from the novel. Read it, understand it, and instill it into your life and help make the world a better place.

So besides those two tiny issues, I absolutely loved this novel and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a delicious read with an absolutely wonderful message behind it.

Leave a Reply

