ARC REVIEW: Alterations

 
alterations


Title: Alterations

Author: Stephanie Scott

Published: December 6, 2016
Format: e-ARC

My Rating: 2 stars/5

Synopsis: If anyone saw the prom boards Amelia Blanco makes on her favorite fashion app, they’d think Ethan Laurenti was her boyfriend. They wouldn’t know that all the plans she’s made for them are just dreams, and that she’s the girl who watches him from the kitchen while her parents cook for his famous family.

When Amelia’s abuelita enrolls her in a month-long fashion internship in NYC, Amelia can’t imagine leaving Miami–and Ethan–for that long. As soon as she gets to New York, however, she finds a bigger world and new possibilities. She meets people her own age who can actually carry on a conversation about stitching and design. Her pin boards become less about prom with Ethan and more about creating her own style. By the time she returns to Miami, Amelia feels like she can accomplish anything, and surprises herself by agreeing to help Ethan’s awkward, Steve-Jobs-wannabe brother, Liam, create his own fashion app.

As Liam and Amelia get closer, Ethan realizes that this newly confident, stylish girl may be the one for him after all . . . even though he has a reality TV star girlfriend he conveniently keeps forgetting about. The “new and improved” Amelia soon finds herself in between two brothers, a whole lot of drama, and choice she never dreamed she’d have to make.

My thoughts from the Vault

Disclaimer: I received an e-ARC of this book. I chose to review it and this in no way impacts my opinion of it.

I was very excited to see that I was approved for this novel because it sounded adorable. With Amelia heading to New York to participate in a fashion internship, learning about herself and exploring a new city, this sounded like a fantastic novel. Unfortunately, this novel just did not work for me.

When I started reading this novel, it was going great. I was really enjoying the story and just wanted to keep reading. However, the more I kept reading, the more Amelia irritated me. She kept making stupid decisions but she was fully aware of them being bad decisions. I know that as a teenager, we all make dumb decisions but honestly, this was just way too much for me.

I felt like this novel was three different stories wrapped into one novel. I felt like the author tried to stuff way too much into this novel when her time at the internship could have almost made up an entire novel or at least half. However, this only takes up 1/3 of the novel. I felt no connection between the three “stories” as I have come to think of them and so it felt like I was reading 3 different novels.

I found that Amelia had very wooden interactions with Ethan and Liam and had no connection to either of them at all. I could see during the book how obsessed Amelia was with Ethan, to almost a creepy degree, but Amelia and Liam? I saw nothing between them, barely even friendship. Amelia also seemed to get into a weird mood at times and said things that didn’t seem in character at all, and each time this happened, it really threw me off.

The only part I really enjoyed was while Amelia was in New York during the internship or the few interactions between only Amelia and Liam and it could almost seem as if they were friends. Sadly, this novel didn’t work for me, but it might work for you. If you read this novel, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

