REVIEW: Moon Called

 
mc


Title: Moon Called

Author: Patricia Briggs

Published: January 31, 2006
Format: Paperback

My Rating: 4 stars/5

Synopsis: Mercedes “Mercy” Thompson is a talented Volkswagen mechanic living in the Tri-Cities area of Washington. She also happens to be a walker, a magical being with the power to shift into a coyote at will. Mercy’s next-door neighbor is a werewolf. Her former boss is a gremlin. And she’s fixing a bus for a vampire. This is the world of Mercy Thompson, one that looks a lot like ours but is populated by those things that go bump in the night. And Mercy’s connection to those things is about to get her into some serious hot water…

My thoughts from the Vault

I picked this book up on the recommendation (or forcing?) of my friend Chelsea and I’m glad I listened to her advice. Chelsea believed that I would love this novel as it is quite similar to the Women of the Otherworld series by Kelley Armstrong. While reading, I kept expecting Elena from Bitten to show up and was a little disappointed when she didn’t. But beside that, it was a wonderful novel.

I absolutely love novels with werewolves and shapeshifters and all the things that go bump in the night. Ever since I first read Bitten by Kelley Armstrong, I just couldn’t get enough. Moon Called is a great substitute to the Women of the Otherworld series that I just couldn’t get enough of. I loved the mix of werewolves, vampires and shapeshifters in this novel and I cannot wait to get my hands on book two.

I really hope that book two has more creatures to show us and keeps me as interested as this one did. I absolutely loved Warren and Adam and I really hope we get to see more of them in the next book.

I was a little surprised to find that there was no sex in this novel, but there also wasn’t really any romance either. This novel was action packed greatness and it was a nice change to read a novel that put action first and romance … third really. It is hard to find novels these days that aren’t romance based.

I highly recommend this novel to fans of the Women of the Otherworld series or just fantasy in general. You will get sucked into this world and will have a hard time climbing your way back out.
One thought on “REVIEW: Moon Called

  1. bftreviews says:

    Oh don’t you worry. There’s lots of sex, romance, and action still in the next books. Plus there’s always at least one new creature added and it’s kind of just awesome. I can’t wait until you catch up!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

