ARC REVIEW: The Sky Between You and Me

 
tskyam


Title: The Sky Between You and Me

Author: Catherine Alene

Published: February 7, 2017
Format: ARC

My Rating: 4 stars/5

Synopsis: Lighter. Leaner. Faster.

Raesha will to do whatever it takes to win Nationals. For her, competing isn’t just about the speed of her horse or the thrill of the win. It’s about honoring her mother’s memory and holding onto a dream they once shared.

Lighter. Leaner. Faster.

For an athlete, every second counts. Raesha knows minus five on the scale will let her sit deeper in her saddle, make her horse lighter on his feet. And lighter, leaner, faster gives her the edge she needs over the new girl on the team, a girl who keeps flirting with Raesha’s boyfriend and making plans with her best friend.

So she focuses on minus five. But if she isn’t careful, she’s going to lose more than just the people she loves, she’s going to lose herself to lighter, leaner, faster…

My thoughts from the Vault

Disclaimer: I received an ARC of this book. I chose to review it and this in no way impacts my opinion of it.

When I first read the synopsis of The Sky Between You and Me, I was extremely interested. I don’t get to read many YA books that involve horses and for a horse book to also include something as serious as an eating disorder, is unheard of.

When I picked this book up to start reading it, I had already picked up and put down four different books without being able to read more then a few chapters. I was beginning to believe that I was in a slump that would be extremely difficult to be pulled out of. Thankfully, I was almost instantly sucked in and didn’t want to stop reading.

It took me a little while to get used to reading this novel as it is all written in verse and really threw me off when I first opened the book to start reading it but I persevered and finally got into the swing of it and really enjoyed it.

This novel is extremely sad and can be hard to read. It broke my heart to watch as Raesha spiraled farther and farther into the black hole of her anorexia. One of the things I really didn’t like about the novel was that Raesha’s friend Asia seemed to see and know that she wasn’t eating, but instead of getting her help or doing anything, she just seemed to get snippy with her and push her away. It seemed like her friends and boyfriend could see something going on, but they all just seemed to avoid talking about it.

There also were a couple points in the story where something seemed to be a huge deal, but then once the event  was over, it was never brought up again. I found this to be a bit odd, but it didn’t take away from the story at all for me.

I thought this book was extremely well done and is an important topic that more people need to be aware of. Society puts so much pressure on men and women to be thin and perfect and that can be very damaging. Hopefully with more understanding of Anorexia, we can get more people the help they need.

Though it is a sad read, I believe it is still a great read, so I encourage everyone to pick it up and give it a try.

Leave a Reply

