ARC REVIEW: Queens of Geek

qog


Title: Queens of Geek

Author: Jen Wilde

Published: March 14, 2017
Format: E-arc

My Rating: 5 stars/5

Synopsis: When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.

Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Jason Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.

 

 My thoughts from the Vault
Disclaimer: I received an eARC of this book. I chose to review it and this in no way impacts my opinion of it.

As soon as I read the synopsis for this novel, I knew I had to read it. Two love stories, one convention? Sign me up. As I met my fiancé at an anime convention, I knew this one would tug on my heartstrings and boy did it ever.

The characters were fantastic and true to life. It was nice to see the diversity in this novel with Charlie being an Asian bisexual and Taylor having extreme anxiety, I felt like I was reading about the real world.

Each chapter of this novel switches between Charlie and Taylor. I am fine with a couple of points of view in novels and I found that Wilde did a wonderful job in making sure we knew when the POV switched, as well as making the characters different enough that we wouldn’t forget who we were following at any point in the story.

As I stated earlier, I met my fiancé at an anime convention and so reading about people going to a con was just fabulous. I haven’t read many, if any, books about conventions and the people that frequent them so it was really great to be able to jump into this world with Charlie and Taylor.

Jen Wilde wove quite the intricate contemporary with the perfect amount of romance and finding oneself and I believe this story will drag you in and will keep a part of your heart forever.

Leave a Reply

