ARC REVIEW: The Yellow Envelope

tye


Title: The Yellow Envelope

Author: Kim Dinan

Published: April 1, 2017
Format: E-arc

My Rating: 4 stars/5

Synopsis: After Kim and her husband decide to quit their jobs to travel around the world, they’re given a yellow envelope containing a check and instructions to give the money away. The only three rules for the envelope: Don’t overthink it; share your experiences; don’t feel pressured to give it all away.

Through Ecuador, Peru, Nepal, and beyond, Kim and Brian face obstacles, including major challenges to their relationship. As she distributes the gift to people she encounters along the way she learns that money does not have a thing to do with the capacity to give, but that giving—of ourselves—is transformational.

My Thoughts from the Vault

Disclaimer: I received an eARC of this book. I chose to review it and this in no way impacts my opinion of it.

The instant I read the synopsis for this book I knew I had to read it. The Yellow Envelope follows Kim and Brian as they travel the world after giving up their jobs, belongings and lives. This novel is everything I’ve ever wanted for my life to be; traveling the world and experiencing life as others know it.

As I am still trying to figure out how to manage traveling the world and not becoming stranded or putting myself in incredible debt, I love reading novels about how others managed it. This novel was everything I hoped it would be.

I loved reading about the Yellow Envelope and thought it was an incredible idea. While reading, I was taken over by the thought of carrying my own yellow envelope on my travels. During the course of this novel I was taken over by the thoughts that we don’t do enough for each other and for people we don’t know. We are so stuck in our own worlds that we don’t notice if someone else is struggling or could use some good in their lives. This novel was great at showing how wonderful giving can make you feel.

I enjoyed how honest and open Dinan was in her writing and her experiences. It was sad to read about the problems between her and her husband, but it really shows the stress that traveling full time/long term with another person can put on a relationship.

Overall I greatly enjoyed this novel though it did make me a tad sad to read as I wasn’t experiencing the type of wonderful adventure they embarked on. I highly recommend this novel to travel lovers as it will set fire to your wanderlust.

Save

Leave a Reply

