ARC REVIEW: Girl out of Water

goow


Title: Girl out of Water

Author: Laura Silverman

Published: May 2nd, 2017
Format: ARC

My Rating: 5 stars/5

Synopsis:  Anise Sawyer plans to spend every minute of summer with her friends: surfing, chowing down on fish tacos drizzled with wasabi balsamic vinegar, and throwing bonfires that blaze until dawn. But when a serious car wreck leaves her aunt, a single mother of three, with two broken legs, it forces Anise to say goodbye for the first time to Santa Cruz, the waves, her friends, and even a kindling romance, and fly with her dad to Nebraska for the entire summer. Living in Nebraska isn’t easy. Anise spends her days caring for her three younger cousins in the childhood home of her runaway mom, a wild figure who’s been flickering in and out of her life since birth, appearing for weeks at a time and then disappearing again for months, or even years, without a word.

Complicating matters is Lincoln, a one-armed, charismatic skater who pushes Anise to trade her surfboard for a skateboard. As Anise draws closer to Lincoln and takes on the full burden and joy of her cousins, she loses touch with her friends back home – leading her to one terrifying question: will she turn out just like her mom and spend her life leaving behind the ones she loves.

 

My Thoughts from the Vault

Disclaimer: I received an ARC of this book. I chose to review it and this in no way impacts my opinion of it.

When I received a copy of this novel in the mail, I was incredibly excited. A story about a girl being ripped from her home to spend the summer away from the ocean and surfing, and instead taking care of her cousins in landlocked Nebraska. I thought I would greatly enjoy this novel as I felt I could connect with the main character Anise as I also feel trapped somewhere I really do not like nor want to be.

I thoroughly enjoyed this novel and really enjoyed the characters of Anise and Lincoln. Lincoln was quite the character and really kept me on my toes. I found him to be quite caring and thoughtful. I realize that they complimented each other quite nicely and this is part of the reason I found this novel so enjoyable.

Though I wish there was a tad more surfing in the novel (as I am dying to learn myself), the skateboarding aspect was a lot of fun and made me wish I still had my skateboard. I never did much but I enjoyed riding around or learning to ollie. It was amusing to watch as Anise tried to learn to ride.

I highly recommend this novel to anyone who enjoys stories with sports thrown in or is just looking for a wonderful contemporary to read. Girl out of Water will not disappoint.

One thought on “ARC REVIEW: Girl out of Water

Leave a Reply

