Connected by a Dream

Today the most amazing thing happened to me. It was something extremely ordinary and unremarkable in every way but it honestly brightened my day incredibly. While I was standing in line at the post office, waiting to pick up a couple packages we had delivered, a gentleman saw my tattoo. Now I have a few tattoos for people to choose from but he noticed the airplane I have tattooed on my foot.

He said, “I have to ask, why the airplane?”. It honestly took me a couple seconds to realize what he was asking (duh) but when I did I explained to him that I love to travel and am a huge travel junkie. This proceeded in him asking places I have been and my favourite places.

I spent three very short minutes talking to someone I have never met before about traveling to locations around the world and those three minutes made my entire day look up. Though I will probably never see this stranger again, we were instantly connected by a dream.. A dream to see Machu Picchu, the grand pyramids in Egypt, Japan.

It really made me think. When we travel, we learn about new cultures, new countries, new ways of life. We learn about who we are and who we want to be as a person. We learn to adjust to new environments, especially when moving from one location to the next quickly. When traveling, things don’t always go the way they’re planned and we learn to take mishaps in stride.

To be able to connect instantly with someone we’ve never met before either when we’re home from our travels or even while we’re travelling is so incredible and something we should embrace. Travel while we can and immerse ourselves in cultures besides our own.

 

Leave a Reply

