ARC Review: Her Book Boyfriend

hbb

Title: Her Book Boyfriend
Author: K.R. Grace

Published: August 25, 2017
Format: e-ARC

My Rating: 3 stars/5

Synopsis:  She believes the secret to love is in the tropes of her favorite romance novels. He’s the best friend prepared to prove her wrong.

Then comes the bet.

If she can’t land a boyfriend for prom by recreating the ten popular tropes in her favorite romance author’s books, she has to go to the prom with him.

The glitch?

They’ve been close their entire lives. He’s the rock god and school legend, while she’s the brainy sidekick who does all his dirty breakups. Thus, finding a guy who doesn’t think they’re already an item is going to be a lot harder than she thinks.

Will she land the book boyfriend of her dreams? Or will she be forced to go to prom with her best friend.

The truth is in the pages.

 

My Thoughts from the Vault

Disclaimer: I received an e-ARC of this book. I chose to review it and this in no way impacts my opinion of it.

The book starts off with Mace deciding she cannot go to college having never had a date before, let alone a boyfriend. How many 18 year olds haven’t even had their first kiss? As a lover of romance novels, Mace decides her best bet is to use popular love tropes from her favourite authors novels. With a bet in place, either Mace needs to find a boyfriend before prom or she’ll have to go to prom with her best friend, Cam.

When I read the synopsis of this novel, I knew that it would probably be predictable but also adorable. It did not let me down. Her Book Boyfriend was an adorable novel with an ending I could see coming a mile away but it was still a fun read. I found the idea of using common love tropes from novels to land a boyfriend to be an interesting one and couldn’t wait to see how it progressed.

I added this novel to my kobo and instantly began reading it and read it until I finished the novel in one day. I found Her Book Boyfriend to be an easy, fast read and I read it until I finished it in one day.

I enjoyed the overall story and really liked the relationship between Cam and Macey. They had such a fun relationship that I love to see between a guy and a girl. I also found the characters enjoyable to read about.

I did find the end of the novel to be too perfect I’ll say and I found that to be a little unrealistic. I wish it was a bit more realistic and less everyone gets exactly what they want. On that note, I will say that this novel was a good read and many romance fans will enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

