ARC REVIEW: The Best Man’s Proposal

bmp

Title: The Best Man’s Proposal
Author: Wynter Daniels

Published: September 18, 2017
Format: e-ARC

My Rating: 3 stars/5

Synopsis:  Niki Hamilton had her hopes pinned on moving to Europe with her boyfriend. But then he dumped her. By text message. Just before her sister’s wedding. Left dateless in a flamingo-pink monstrosity of a bridesmaid dress, she decides to drown her sorrows in a glass of tall, dark, and handsome.

Firefighter Grant Powers has been burned by love, but when his best friend’s new sister-in-law falls into his arms—and stays there for one sexy night—he enjoys the experience a little too much.

Then a rental snafu leaves Niki temporarily homeless. So, gentleman and masochist that he is, Grant offers his spare bedroom. Despite the smoldering sexual tension between them, starting anything would be playing with fire.

Now, they just have to survive living together for a few weeks…

 

My Thoughts from the Vault

Disclaimer: I received an e-ARC of this book. I chose to review it and this in no way impacts my opinion of it.

I requested this novel because I felt I could relate to Niki due to her long time goal of moving to Europe. I have wanted to move to Europe for as long as I can remember and so I felt a pull to read this novel and see how things ended up for Niki. Plus, add in a sexy firefighter and you’ve got me sold.

This novel was a fun read and the first novel I could actually get into for the past month. Though it grabbed my attention and kept me reading, I felt I couldn’t give it more than three stars because there is nothing I hate more in novels than ‘instalove’ and this novel was full of it. This novel lacked the chemistry I can’t get enough of in romance novels and that really brought the rating down for me.

I did really enjoy the characters of Niki and Grant. Grant was the perfect gentleman that any girl would fall for. Kind, caring, and in incredible shape as a firefighter how could any girl resist? When Niki and Grant fall into each other as rebounds, it seems simple. One sexy night together is what they agreed on but when Niki moves in with Grant both their lives are flipped upside down.

Being in the same house 24/7 proves to be almost more than Niki and Grant could handle. It was frustrating watching them deny themselves of something they both wanted just because they both wanted such different things, but I could also understand how Niki wouldn’t want to give up her dreams of moving to Europe for a guy she just met.

Regardless of my issues with the instalove and lack of chemistry because of that, I still thought it was a cute novel and recommend it to any romance lovers out there. You honestly can’t go wrong with firefighters.

Leave a Reply

