ARC REVIEW: Devils and Thieves

d&v

Title: Devils and Thieves
Author: Jennifer Rush

Published: October 3, 2017
Format: ARC

My Rating: 5 stars/5

Synopsis:  Eighteen-year-old Jemmie Carmichael has grown up surrounded by magic in the quiet town of Hawthorne, New York. In her world, magic users are called “kindled,” and Jemmie would count herself among them if only she could cast a simple spell without completely falling apart. It doesn’t help that she was also recently snubbed by Crowe, the dangerous and enigmatic leader of the Black Devils kindled motorcycle gang and the unofficial head of their turf.

When the entire kindled community rolls into Hawthorne for an annual festival, a rumour begins spreading that someone is practising forbidden magic. Then people start to go missing. With threats closing in from every side, no one can be trusted. Jemmie and Crowe will have to put aside their tumultuous history to find their loved ones, and the only thing that might save them is the very flaw that keeps Jemmie from fully harnessing her magic. For all her years of feeling useless, Jemmie may just be the most powerful kindled of all.

 

My Thoughts from the Vault

Disclaimer: I received an ARC of this book. I chose to review it and this in no way impacts my opinion of it.

I requested this novel on a whim because my friend Chelsea had requested it and I thought it would be fun to buddy read it. Devils and Thieves also sounded like an interesting novel and I am beyond thrilled that I did request it. I fell incredibly in love with this novel if the 5 stars didn’t already tell you that.

As I had just finished my re-read of the Cainsville Series by Kelley Armstrong which involves a lawyer I can’t get enough of and a biker I love almost as much, Devils and Thieves was the perfect novel to pick up while I eagerly await the final novel in the Cainsville series.

I finished this novel in a day because I just could not put it down. I wanted to be reading every minute of the day until I finished and Rush did not disappoint. The ending was just as awesome as the rest of the novel and has left me dying for book two.

I really enjoyed the magical aspect of this novel and I thought Jemmie’s magic was interesting and well done. It has been a while since I have gotten into a fantasy novel but Devils and Thieves had me almost instantly. I will admit that I was a tad bit confused at the very beginning but I quickly began to understand.

I loved watching the characters develop throughout the novel and I cannot wait to see how they continue to grow in book two. While in the beginning I wasn’t a huge fan of Jemmie, I was instantly in love with Crowe. I seem to have a thing for “bad boy bikers”. It might have been the tough guy act that really won me over to his side.

I highly recommend this novel to anyone who enjoys urban fantasy. If you’re like me, you’ll be drawn into the novel and read until you finish.

Leave a Reply

